Qu’est-ce qu’un Netsuké?

Que sont les Netsuke? Le vêtement traditionnel japonais, le Kimono, n'a pas de poches pour les petits objets tels que les porte-monnaie, boîtes de médicaments (Inro), écritoires portables (Yatate), étuis à pipe, blagues à tabac, etc.

Les femmes les portent nichés dans les manches, les hommes les suspendent à une corde passée derrière leur ceinture (Obi). Ces objets suspendus sont appelés Sagemono. Pour les empêcher de tomber, ils sont attachés à un genre de taquet appelé Netsuke fermement positionné au-dessus de la ceinture.

Le mot Netsuké est écrit en japonais avec deux caractères (根 付) qui signifient «racine» et «attachée». Il semblerait donc que les premiers Netsuke étaient de simples morceaux de racine, de bois ou d'autres petits matériaux naturels.

Toutes les sculptures miniatures ne sont pas Netsuké ! Pour être un Netsuke, la sculpture doit avoir un ou deux Himotoshi (trous) pour permettre l'attachement au Sagemono. Ces trous peuvent être percés ou être une ouverture naturelle dans la conception du Netsuke.

Pendant une période de 300 ans les Netsuke ont évolué à partir d'objets simples et pratiques en de superbes sculptures miniatures appréciées et collectionnés de par le monde.

Types de Netsuke

Plusieurs types existent, principalement en fonction de leur forme.

  • Manju Netsuke. Nommés d'après un petit gâteau de pâte de haricot, rond et plat en forme, très populaire au Japon.
  • Kagamibuta Netsuke. De forme similaire au Manju, mais avec un disque (généralement en métal) sur le dessus d'un bol creux.
  • Ryusa Netsuke. Une autre variante de Manju, mais avec des sculptures en filigrane afin de les rendre plus légers.
  • Katabori Netsuke. Ces Netsuke en trois dimensions sont les plus populaires et représentent des personnages, des animaux, des plantes, des objets d'usage quotidien, etc.
  • Men (masque) Netsuke. Ce sont généralement des interprétations miniatures des masques traditionnels utilisés lors de danses ou théâtres traditionnels japonais tels que Noh, Bugaku, Kyogen ou Gigaku.
  • Sashi Netsuke. Contrairement aux précédents types de Netsuke attachés à des cordons relativement longs, le Sashi Netsuke a un cordon très court et est inséré entre la ceinture et le Kimono. Leur forme est donc généralement longue et plate.
  • Les autres types de Netsuké Contrairement aux précédents types de Netsuke attachés à des cordons relativement longs, le Sashi Netsuke a un cordon très court et est inséré entre la ceinture et le Kimono. Leur forme est donc généralement longue et plate.

Les matériaux utilisés pour les Netsuke.

Les matériaux les plus couramment utilisés sont l'ivoire, le bois et les cornes de cerf.
D'autres sont des défenses de sanglier, de la porcelaine, des métaux, des dents, de la laque, de la canne tissée ou du bambou.

Des matériaux plus rares sont le calao, le corail, le narval, l’ambre et diverses substances fossilisés.

Les sujets des Netsuke

Les sujets des Netsuke Les sujets dans tous les domaines, réels ou imaginaires, peuvent être trouvés dans les Netsuke.

Les animaux, en particulier les douze du calendrier Zodiac, sont cependant les sujets les plus populaires. Les animaux mythiques tels que Kirin, Suisei et Dragons sont aussi très recherchés, mais le Shishi est le plus commun parmi eux. D'autres, comme Hakutaku, Baku ou Nue sont beaucoup plus rares.

Tous les types de légumes, de fleurs et de fruits ont été sculptés

Les étrangers tels que les Hollandais et les Chinois étaient représentés, en particulier durant les 17e et 18e siècles.

Un autre groupe important de sujets couvre les légendes et les mythes souvent empruntés à la Chine, y compris les 7 Dieux de la Bonne Fortune, Shoki et une myriade de Sennin (personnages immortels). Les sujets japonais viennent parfois des théâtres Noh et Kabuki ou de contes populaires.

Une quantité innombrable de sujets de la vie quotidienne ont été sculptés, tels que les ustensiles de la cérémonie du thé, des casques, des paniers, des pièces de monnaie, des gongs de temple, etc. La liste est sans fin ...

Les Netsuke Shunga montrent des sujets érotiques, parfois explicites, mais le plus souvent cachée ou seulement suggérés...

Les sculpteurs de Netsuke

Le nombre de sculpteurs de Netsuké est aussi innombrable que leurs sujets. Certains grands sculpteurs n’ont jamais signé leurs œuvres, en particulier pendant la phase initiale. Certains sont devenus célèbres grâce au premier livre (Soken Kisho en 1781) donnant une liste des noms de Netsukeshi (sculpteurs Netsuke). Ils comprennent des artistes bien connus tels que Masanao (de Kyoto), Tomotada et Garaku.

Au Japon, l'histoire de la sculpture de Netzuké est habituellement divisée en 3 périodes:

  • Une première période couvrant les Netsuke du 17ème siècle au milieu du 19ème siècle. Ceci est la période où les sculpteurs mentionnés dans le Soken Kisho fleurirent, à qui nous pouvons ajouter des noms comme Yoshinaga, Okatomo, Minko, Tametaka et Tomiharu. Cependant, pour de nombreux collectionneurs Japonais, la préférence va aux sculpteurs de la période du début au milieu du 19e siècle. Ce fut l’époque où les riches marchands voulaient montrer leur fortune en portant des ornements vestimentaires de luxe tels que les Inro ou ensembles de fumeurs. Ceux-ci étaient fixés à des Netsuke plus finement sculptés, au risque de les rendre plus fragiles. Pour citer quelques célèbres sculpteurs de cette époque: Sukenaga, Toyomasa, Kokei, Ikkan, Sessai, Otoman et Tomokazu.

  • De la période Meiji à la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1868 ~ 1945). Après la Révolution Meiji, le gouvernement recommanda fortement à la population d’adopter un style de vie plus moderne, y compris de remplacer le Kimono traditionnel par des vêtements occidentaux. Le résultat a été une diminution rapide de la demande de Sagemono et de Netsuke. Ce fut le moment où de nombreux étrangers ont commencé à se rendre au Japon et ont découvert l'attrait de ces petites œuvres d'art. Ce fut un soulagement pour les sculpteurs qui pouvaient à nouveau produire des Netsuke et les exporter en assez grandes quantités, principalement en Europe. Malheureusement, la qualité de ces Netsuke a diminué et seulement une poignée de sculpteurs a continué la façon traditionnelle de la création de petits chefs-d'œuvre. Ces Netsuke, même s’ils ont ont perdu leur usage d'origine, ont été très appréciés par les collectionneurs, à la fois au Japon et à l'étranger. Des maîtres sculpteurs tels que Mitsuhiro, Tokoku, Kokusai, Kaigyokusai, Morita Soko, Sosui et Gyokuso étaient les plus prisés.

  • Troisième période (de 1945 jusqu'à nos jours). Il est évident que la demande de Netsuke a chuté au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, mais elle a recommencée en 1946. Malheureusement, la plupart des Netsuke sculptés à cette époque a été produite en masse dans des ateliers. Ces Netsuke doivent donc être considérés comme de simples articles de souvenir. Dans les années 70, M. Raymond Bushell, un résident étranger au Japon, a encouragé certains sculpteurs à produire à nouveau des Netsuke de qualité soit dans la manière traditionnelle ou en créant des conceptions plus modernes et contemporaines. Plusieurs de ces Netsukeshi sont devenu célèbres, à la fois au Japon et à l'étranger. Pour ne citer que quelques-uns: Masatoshi, Ryushi, Bishu, Hideyuki, Kangyoku. A l’étranger, d’autres sculpteurs comme Clive Hallam, Popova, Sloggett, Osipov et Derkachenko produisent des Netsuke contemporains très recherchés.

Les principaux centres de sculpture de Netsuke

Les principaux centres de sculpture de Netsuke Au fil des siècles, les sculpteurs de Netsuké avaient tendance à rester dans certaines régions du Japon, ayant chacune un style distinctif. Les plus importantes étaient: Kyoto, Osaka, Hakata, Takayama, Iwami, Nagoya, Gifu, Edo, Ise et Tamba.

page up
Japanese Site HOME INQUIRY ACCESS EXHIBITIONS VIP MEMBERS

What are Netsuke ?

What are Netsuke ? The traditional Japanese dress, the Kimono, has no pockets to carry small items such as purses, medicine boxes (Inro), portable writing sets (Yatate), tobacco pouches, etc.

Women carry them tucked in the sleeves, men suspend them on a cord passed behind their sash (Obi). These hanging objects are called Sagemono. To prevent them from falling, they are attached to a stopper called Netsuke firmly positioned on top of the sash.

The word Netsuke is written in Japanese with two characters (根付) meaning “root” and “attached”. It is therefore said that the first Netsuke were probably simple pieces of root or wood, or other natural materials such as shells, stones, etc. attached to the cord.

All small carvings are not Netsuke ! To be a Netsuke, the carving must have one or two holes (Himotoshi) to allow attachment to the Sagemono. These can be drilled or be a natural opening in the Netsuke design.

Over a period of about 300 years Netsuke have evolved from simple practical objects into superb small and intricate carvings appreciated and collected all over the world.


Types of Netsuke

Several type exist, mainly based on their shape.

  • Manju Netsuke. Named after a popular bean paste confection, round and flat in shape.
  • Kagamibuta Netsuke. Similar in shape to Manju, but with a lid (usually metal) on top of a hollowed bowl.
  • Ryusa Netsuke. Another variation of Manju, but with open-work carvings in order to make them lighter.
  • Katabori Netsuke. These three-dimensional Netsuke are the most popular ones, depicting people, animals, plants, objects of daily use, etc.
  • Men (mask) Netsuke. These are usually miniature renditions of traditional masks used during performing arts such as Noh, Bugaku, Kyogen or Gigaku.
  • Sashi Netsuke. Contrary to the previous types of Netsuke attached to relatively long cords, the Sashi Netsuke has a very short cord and is thrust between the sash and the Kimono. Their shape is thus long and flat.
  • Other types of Netsuke have very often dual purposes, such as ashtray (Hihataki), brush holder (Yatate), boxes (Hako), abacus (Soroban), etc.

Materials used for Netsuke

It can be said that almost all materials can and have been used for Netsuke, but the most commonly ones are ivory, wood (especially boxwood) and antlers.
Others are boar tusks, porcelain, glass, metal, teeth, lacquer, woven cane and bamboo.
Rarer materials are hornbill, coral, narwhal, amber, tagua nut and various fossilised substances.

Netsuke subjects

What are Netsuke ? Subjects in all fields, real or imaginary, can be found in Netsuke.

Animals, especially the twelve from the Zodiac calendar, are however the most popular subject. Mythical animals such as Kirin, Kappa and Dragons (a member of the Zodiac group) are also well in demand, but Shishi is the most common among them. Others like Hakutaku, Baku or Nue are much rarer.

All type of vegetables, flowers and fruits were carved, some with erotic meanings like mushrooms and cucumbers.

Subjects of daily life are also often represented, like peasants, fishermen, Ama (diving girls), masseurs, street vendors, Sumo wrestlers, blind men, monkey trainers, etc.

Foreigners such as Dutchmen and Chinese were represented, especially in the 17th and 18th centuries.

Another important group of subjects covers legends and myths often borrowed from China, including the 7 Gods of Good Fortune, Shoki the Demon queller and a myriad of Sennin (immortal persons). Japanese subjects come sometimes from Noh and Kabuki plays or folk tales. Tengu and Kappa are among the favorites creatures in this field.

Uncountable still life subjects were carved, such as tea ceremony utensils, helmets, baskets, coins, temple gongs, etc. The list is endless…

Shunga Netsuke show erotic subjects, sometimes explicit, more often hidden or only suggested.

Netsuke carvers

Netsuke subjects The number of carvers is as uncountable as subjects. Some great carvers have never signed their works, especially during the early stage. Some became famous thanks to the first book (Soken Kisho in 1781) to list names of Netsukeshi (Netsuke carvers). They include well known artists such as Masanao, Tomotada and Garaku.

In Japan, the history of Netsuke carving is usually divided in 3 periods:


  • Early period covering Netsuke from the 17th century to mid 19th century. For many foreign collectors, the 17th and 18th was the golden age of Netsuke carving, when many large and strong Netsuke were produced. This is the period when the Soken Kisho carvers flourished, to whom we can add such names like Yoshinaga, Okatomo, Minko, Tametaka and Tomiharu. However for many Japanese collectors, carvers of the late Edo period (early to mid 19th century) are preferred. This was the time when rich merchants wanted to show their wealth by wearing luxurious ornaments such as Inro or tobacco pouches. These were attached to more finely carved Netsuke, at the cost of becoming more fragile and more easily damaged. To cite some famous carvers names of that period: Sukenaga, Toyomasa, Kokei, Ikkan, Sessai, Otoman and Tomokazu.

  • From Meiji period to the end of the Second World War (1868~1945). After the Meiji Revolution, the Government strongly recommended the population to adopt a more modern life style, including replacing the traditional Kimono with western clothes. The result was a rapid decrease in the demand of Sagemono and Netsuke. This was the time when many foreigners started to visit Japan and discovered the lure of these small works of art. This was a relief for the carvers who could again produce Netsuke to be exported in rather large quantities, mostly to Europe. Unfortunately the quality of such export Netsuke decreased and only a handful of carvers continued the traditional way of creating small masterpieces. These, even if they lost their original use, were highly appreciated as remarkable works of art by collectors, both in Japan and abroad. Master carvers such as Mitsuhiro, Tokoku, Kokusai, Kaigyokusai, Morita Soko, Sosui and Gyokuso were the most prized.

  • Later period (1945 until now). Obviously the demand for Netsuke fell during the Second World War, but it started again in 1946. Unfortunately most Netsuke carved during that period were mass produced in ateliers and should be considered as mere souvenir items, with no value except a sentimental one. In the 70’, Mr. Raymond Bushell, a foreign resident in Japan, encouraged some carvers to produce again quality Netsuke in either the traditional way or by creating more modern and contemporary designs. Several such Netsukeshi became famous, both in Japan and abroad. To name but a few: Masatoshi, Ryushi, Bishu, Hideyuki, Kangyoku, Clive Hallam, Popova, Sloggett and Sergey Osipov.

Netsuke carving centers

Netsuke carving centers Over the centuries, Netsuke carvers tended to remain in certain regions in Japan, each having a distinctive style. The most important ones are (listed with a major carver): Kyoto (Masanao), Osaka (Kaigyokusai), Hakata (Ottoman), Takayama (Sukenaga), Iwami (Tomiharu), Nagoya (Tametaka), Gifu (Tomokazu), Edo (Jugyoku), Ise (Masanao) and Tamba (Toyomasa).

Netsuke studies and literature

As mentioned previously, the earliest listing of Netsuke carvers in Japan was the Soken Kisho published in 1781 by Inaba Tsuryu. This was followed, much later, by Netsuke no Kenkyu (Studies of Netsuke) written by Ueda Reikichi in 1943.

In Europe, serious studies about Netsuke started at the very beginning of the 20th century with publications by Brockhaus (1905), Bing (1906) and Behrens (1912). Since then many books have been published in Japanese, English, French, German and Russian by authors like R. Bushell, N. Davey and A. Ducros.

The latest book and bestseller related to Netsuke is The Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal.

page up

Japanese Site HOME INQUIRY ACCESS EXHIBITIONS VIP MEMBERS